Ph +61 8 8274 4333

Scotch College Adelaide is an independent, co-educational day and
boarding school offering an outstanding education from
Early Learning to Year 12

Next Scotch College Tours: Middle & Senior School - 23 October 2017

ELC - 26 October 2017

Junior School - 2 November 2017


The Gratton Society

Bequests are the long term future of the College.

The Gratton Society was established in the late 1980s in the name of founding Scotch College Headmaster, Norman Gratton, to recognise people from the Scotch community who have made a bequest to the College.

No bequest is too big or too small. The process is simple, confidentiality is assured and you will leave a legacy at Scotch.

When Scotch moved to Torrens Park in 1919, the daunting task of turning an elegant but run-down Victorian mansion into a first-class boys' college was a challenge that Norman Gratton met. Under his energetic leadership classrooms and dormitories were created, army huts were converted to classrooms or workshops, the coach-house became a science block and the stables a gymnasium. Ovals and tennis courts were established. By the time he retired in 1951, there were over 400 pupils. No more popular figure had ever trod the school grounds.

By leaving a bequest in your will, you can carry on the legacy of Norman Gratton.

As of February 2017, thanks to the Gratton Society:

  • In excess of $5.5 million in specified bequests have been pledged, and
  • Approximately $1 million has been received.

The funds are invested by the College Investment Committee. The money generated is used to maintain a corpus of funds and assist the College with provision of scholarships. Major bequests have assisted in the funding of the Hamilton Scholarship and the Davidson Family Boarding scholarship.

For an information pack about bequests and The Gratton Society, please contact Catherine Newton on (08) 8274 4335 or via

Gratton Society Members

Paul Abeles  Gladstone Gratton * Scott Rickards
Alistair Angus  Gordon Gratton * Peter Routley
Susan Angus  Peter Griffiths Anthony Seymour
Bruce Arrowsmith * Colin Hamilton * Tommie Siekmann
Dianne Barron-Davis Michael Harrington Cathy Smith
Douglas Bell Greg Harris Michael Smith
Ross Blanchard John Hosking Wilmot Smith
Sue Chase Chris Humble Mary Stevens *
Claire Clayton * Andrew Just Max Taylor *
John Clayton * John Kramer Peter Trumble
Bob Cottle * Rick Law George Van Staveren *
Margie Cottle John Little Joe Walker 
Jim Cleghorn* Cassie Llewellyn-Smith John Walter
Mark Coxon Ida Llewellyn-Smith Francis Warwick *
Robert Craig Michael Llewellyn-Smith Ken Webb
Patricia Davidson* Bob Love * Dorothy White *
James Duggin Ethan Martin-Donald * John White *
Chris Dutton Grant Mayfield Gill Williams *
Alan Edmonds-Wilson Maurice Minervini  Rose Wilson
David Freebairn Andrew Osmond John Wood
John Freebairn * Marion Osmond Tom Wood *
Jack Gardiner * Frank Pemble-Smith Robert Worth *
Len Gilbertson  * Bob Pentelow * Ted Wyly *
Frank Goldman * Ted Raggatt * Howard Young *
    Howard Zelling *

* denotes deceased members

List current as at 27/2/2017


© 2014 Scotch College Adelaide

Sitemap Contact Employment Privacy & Disclaimer Terms & Conditions

Carruth Road Torrens Park SA 5062 P: +618 8274 4333 E: CRICOS 00615B

PrintTell a FriendBookmark Site