The Gratton Society

Partnering to build the future

The Gratton Society

Partnering to build the future

Bequests have played a significant role in the College’s development from its beginnings 100 years ago.

These early gifts established a remarkable legacy and have helped us become the outstanding educational institution we are today – one steadfastly focused on preparing contemporary learners to make an impact in their own and others’ lives.

Supporting Scotch through a bequest costs nothing today yet gives you the satisfaction of knowing that you will make a difference to Scotchies in the future. What’s more, this unique gift enables you to establish a personal legacy; be precise about the type of impact you want to have and be flexible with your financial planning.

It is a nod to the future; an investment in education which signifies opportunity and possibility by allowing the College to plan for tomorrow in confidence.

Gifts in Wills from our old scholars, families and friends come in all shapes and sizes. Whether you are considering support for scholarships, a specific program or a facility, we can help you tailor your gift to reflect your wishes and ensure the legacy you envision becomes a reality.

The Legacy of Norman Gratton

Honouring Scotch’s first and longest serving Headmaster, the Gratton Society is made up of individuals past and present with foresight and generosity to secure the future of Scotch for generations to come.

When Scotch moved to Torrens Park in 1919, the daunting task of turning an elegant but run-down Victorian mansion into a first-class boys’ college was a challenge met by Norman Gratton, founding Scotch College Headmaster. Under his energetic leadership classrooms and dormitories were created, army huts were converted to classrooms or workshops, the coach-house became a science block and the stables a gymnasium. Ovals and tennis courts were established.

By the time he retired in 1951, there were over 400 pupils. No more popular figure had ever trod the College grounds. It seemed fitting, therefore, to name the Scotch Bequest Society, established in the late 1980’s, after him. The Gratton Society recognizes people from the Scotch Community who have made a bequest to the College in their wills.

By leaving a bequest, not only do you carry on the legacy of Norman Gratton, but you also help transform the lives of future generations of Scotch students.

How to become a member

If you would like to establish a lasting legacy at Scotch, we would be honoured to welcome you as a member of the Gratton Society. There are a number of methods that may suit you. These include leaving a fixed sum of money, a percentage of the estate, a gift of personal property, shares, real estate or a residuary bequest. You can notify us of your intention to leave a bequest in a number of ways such as, verbally, electronically or in writing.

If you have already remembered Scotch in your Will, we truly appreciate your commitment, and we would welcome the opportunity to thank you personally. Please let us know so that we can keep you up to date with the developments of Scotch, invite you to special events and recognise your generosity through the Gratton Society.

Please note that you can remain anonymous and/or keep your gift amount undisclosed.

Gratton Society Members

Members of the Gratton Society are listed below and also on the Gratton Society Board in the Drawing Room of Torrens Park House.

Mr P Abeles† Dr M Llewellyn-Smith AM
Mr A Angus Mr R Love†
Mrs S Angus Mrs M Love†
Mr R Arrowsmith† Ms H Lowrie
Mrs D Barron-Davis Mr E Martin-Donald†
Mr A Bhattacharjee Mr G Mayfield
Mr D Bell Mr M Minervini†
Mr R Blanchard Mr P Neighbour
Mr N Blight† Mr A Nunn
Mr J Camens Mr A Osmond†
Mrs S Chase AM Mrs M Osmond
Mrs C Clayton† Mr F Pemble-Smith†
Mr J Clayton† Mr R Pentelow†
Mr J Cleghorn† Dr A Pouw-Bray
Mr R Cottle† Mr E Raggatt†
Mrs M Cottle Mr S Rickards
Mr R Coxon Mr R Ross-Smith
Dr R Craig OAM Mr P Routley AM
Mrs P Davidson† Mr G Sandford
Ms A Dimos Mrs M Sandford
Mr J Duggin Dr A Seymour
Mr C Dutton Ms T Siekmann
Mr A Edmonds-Wilson Mrs C Smith
Mr D Freebairn† Mr M Smith
Mr J Freebairn† Mr K Smith†
Mrs S Freebairn Ms M Stevens†
Mr J Gardiner† Mr M Taylor†
Mr L Gilbertson† Mr P Trumble†
Mr F Goldman† Mr S Van Staveren†
Dr M Gratton† Mr J Walker
Mr G Gratton† Mr J Walter
Mr P Griffiths Mr F Warwick†
Mr C Hamilton† Mr K Webb
Mr M Harrington Mrs D White†
Dr J Harris Mr J White†
Mr J Harvey Mr S Williams†
Mr J Hosking Ms R Wilson
Mr C Humble Mr J Wood
Mr A Just Mr T Wood†
Mr J Kramer Mr R Worth†
Mr R Law† Mr E Wyly†
Mr J Little OAM Mr H Young†
Miss C Llewellyn-Smith Mrs W Young
Dr I Llewellyn-Smith Dr H Zelling AO CBE QC†

† Deceased

For an information pack about bequests and The Gratton Society, please contact the Philanthropy Office on (08) 8274 4335 or via